Jack Foretells the Future
written by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
Jack tries to help a grumpy farmer and is mistaken for being able to tell the future. Can mischievous Jack use this mistake to trick the farmer into giving up all his gold?
As part of the Ten Tales from Different Cultures series, this traditional British tale is retold by expert storytellers Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters.
Classification: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Collection)
East of the Sun and West of the Moon
retold by Kathleen and Michael Hague
The mysterious white bear, the mighty North Wind, the castle east of the sun and west of the moon - all are dramaticall illustrated by Michael Hague in this classic Scandanavian fairy tale.
Classification - EN 398.2 HAG
Kyiv is fabulous when it is lit with white candles of chestnuts in blossom, fabulous in the aroma of linden trees and acacias, fabulous in spills of midsummer songs, in quiet splendor of autumn foliage and golden-domed cathedrals. There is still Kozhemyaky tract there, the tract where Kyrylo Kozhumyaka lived, and the river Lybid still flows, and Khorevytsya, Shchekavytsya and Starokyivska hills tower, those where the legendary princes built the city, and the mysterious two millennia-old Zmievi banks billow around it ... A lot of extraordinary things happen in Kyiv! And some of the things are described in this book.
Classification - Picture Book - PB M (infant Collection)
Peter and the Wolf by Sergie Prokofiev
Peter and the Wolf was composed by the great Russian composer Sergei Prokofiev to introduce children to the instruments of the orchestra. This timeless tale is beautifully retold, and remains a wonderful introduction to the world of music.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB P (Junior Collection)
The Woman who Tricked Death
retold by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
Would you do a deal with Death to have everything you ever wanted?
As part of the Ten Tales from Different Cultures series, this Czech tale is retold by expert storytellers Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters.
Classification: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Collection)
Ragamuffin and his Delicious Nail Soup
retold by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
How can cold and hungry Ragamuffin make a delicious soup with only a rusty old nail?
As part of the Ten Tales from Different Cultures series, this traditional Swedish tale is retold by expert storytellers Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters.
Classification: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Collection)
The Children of Odin: The Book of Northern Myths
retold by Padriac Colum
Before time as we know it began, Gods and Godesses lived in the city of Asgard. Odin All-Father crossed the rainbow bridge to walk among men in Midgard. Thor defended Asgard with his mighty hammer. Mischievous Loki was constantly getting into trouble with the other Gods, and Dragons and giants walked free. This collection of Norse sagas retold by author Padric Colum gives us a sense of that magical time when the world was filed with powers and wonders we can hardly imagine.
Classification: EN 398.2 COL (Junior Collection)
Orani: My Father's Village
by Claire A. Nivola
As a child, Claire Nivola loved summers in Orani, the village where her father grew up and where her many aunts, uncles, and 50 cousins still lived. She ran freely through the town's cobbled streets with packs of cousins, who quizzed her about America while she took in all teh simple joys and pleasures of daily life in a village where surprises met them at every turn.
In this sensuous homage of prose and pictures, Nivola invites readers to share in her experience of Orani, a village where surprises met them at every turn and luxuries were unheard of, but life was rich, lived close to the earth.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB N (Junior Collection)