Skip to main content

Y8 History- Explorers: References and Databases

Library Catalogue- Oliver

Always search Oliver first when you need information!

 

USEFUL DEWEY CLASSIFICATION NUMBERS

910 Geography & Travel
910.9

History, Geographic treatment,
Biography

Off campus access

Ask Librarian for username and password for accessing library subscription databases at home.

Articles in EBSCOhost

 

Dababase: MAS Ultra and Topic Search

Keyword: name of the explorer, explorers, exploration, explor*

Limiters: Full text and Published Date from 20000101-20141231

Subject Guide

Angela Chang's picture
Angela Chang
Check out what I have just read...
Angela Chang's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Click the image above or go to http://school.ebonline.com/ to search our Britannica School database!

 

Use the "Visual Learning" tool to learn more about the exploration routes!

European exploration of the African coast, 1434-1487

European Penetration of the Indian Ocean

The First Circumnavigation of the Globe

Indian Ocean trade

The Silk Road

 

BrainPOP

Click the image above or go to http://www.brainpop.co.uk

to search BrainPOP!

Reference Shelf

Reference books are great starting point for your research because they provide excellent overviews of subjects. Ask librarians if you are not sure how to use The World Book Encyclopedia or Britannica Student Encyclopedia.

The World Book Encyclopedia

Britannica Student Encyclopedia