Early Years Foundation Stage: learning to love books: Recommended Authors

Author of 'The Very Hungry Caterpillar', 'The Grouchy Ladybug', 'Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What can you see?' and many more. Eric Carle's books are very popular among children of all ages. 

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Eric Carle books

Rod Campbell has been writing and illustrating children's books for over thirty years. Best known for his classic lift-the-flap title Dear Zoo, which has sold over 2 million copies worldwide, he is also the creator of the much loved preschool character Buster. Ingeniously simple, with touches of gentle humour, Rod's books are enjoyed by children, parents and teachers alike.

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Nursery & Reception collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box O

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - David McKee collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box A

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Lauren Child collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box O

Most famous for his Spot the dog series of books, Eric Hill's wonderful illustrations and funny stories have made his books popular for many years. 

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Eric Hill books

Dame Lynley Stuart Dodd DNZM is a prominent author of children’s books from New Zealand. She is best known for her "Hairy Maclary" series, and its follow-ups, all of which feature animals. 

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box D

Julia Donaldson is best known for her popular rhyming stories for children, especially those illustrated by Alex Scheffler which include The Gruffalo, Room on the Broom and Stick Man. 

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Julia Donaldson Collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box S

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box S

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box M

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Babette Cole collection

A delightful collection of touch and feel books from Usborne including the popular, 'That's Not My..." series. 

Available in the EPC library - Infant Collection - Nursery & Reception collection

Mo Willems is an American writer, animator, and creator of children's books and is most famous for his Elephant and Piggie books, Knuffle Bunny, and Don't let the Pigeon drive the bus!

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Mo Willems collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box P

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Picture Book box H

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - David Shannon collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Leo Lionni collection

Available in the EPC Library - Infant Collection - Mick Inkpen collection