Dawn of the New Everything by
Named one of the best books of 2017 byThe Economist, The Wall Street Journal,&Vox The father of virtual reality explains its dazzling possibilities by reflecting on his own lifelong relationship with technology Bridging the gap between tech mania and the experience of being inside the human body, Dawn of the New Everything is a look at what it means to be human at a moment of unprecedented technological possibility. Through a fascinating look back over his life in technology, Jaron Lanier, an interdisciplinary scientist and father of the term "virtual reality," exposes VR's ability to illuminate and amplify our understanding of our species, and gives readers a new perspective on how the brain and body connect to the world. An inventive blend of autobiography, science writing, philosophy and advice, this book tells the wild story of his personal and professional life as a scientist, from his childhood in the UFO territory of New Mexico, to the loss of his mother, the founding of the first start-up, and finally becoming a world-renowned technological guru. Understanding virtual reality as being both a scientific and cultural adventure, Lanier demonstrates it to be a humanistic setting for technology. While his previous books offered a more critical view of social media and other manifestations of technology, in this book he argues that virtual reality can actually make our lives richer and fuller.
Social Engineering by
The first book to reveal and dissect the technical aspect of many social engineering maneuvers From elicitation, pretexting, influence and manipulation all aspects of social engineering are picked apart, discussed and explained by using real world examples, personal experience and the science behind them to unraveled the mystery in social engineering. Kevin Mitnick--one of the most famous social engineers in the world--popularized the term "social engineering." He explained that it is much easier to trick someone into revealing a password for a system than to exert the effort of hacking into the system. Mitnick claims that this social engineering tactic was the single-most effective method in his arsenal. This indispensable book examines a variety of maneuvers that are aimed at deceiving unsuspecting victims, while it also addresses ways to prevent social engineering threats. Examines social engineering, the science of influencing a target to perform a desired task or divulge information Arms you with invaluable information about the many methods of trickery that hackers use in order to gather information with the intent of executing identity theft, fraud, or gaining computer system access Reveals vital steps for preventing social engineering threats Social Engineering: The Art of Human Hacking does its part to prepare you against nefarious hackers--now you can do your part by putting to good use the critical information within its pages.
Glow Kids by
From addiction expert Dr. Nicholas Kardaras, a startling argument that technology has profoundly affected the brains of children--and not for the better. We've all seen them: kids hypnotically staring at glowing screens in restaurants, in playgrounds and in friends' houses--and the numbers are growing. Like a virtual scourge, the illuminated glowing faces--the Glow Kids--are multiplying. But at what cost? Is this just a harmless indulgence or fad like some sort of digital hula-hoop? Some say that glowing screens might even be good for kids--a form of interactive educational tool. Don't believe it. InGlow Kids, Dr. Nicholas Kardaras will examine how technology--more specifically, age-inappropriate screen tech, with all of its glowing ubiquity--has profoundly affected the brains of an entire generation. Brain imaging research is showing that stimulating glowing screens are as dopaminergic (dopamine activating) to the brain's pleasure center as sex. And a growing mountain of clinical research correlates screen tech with disorders like ADHD, addiction, anxiety, depression, increased aggression,and even psychosis. Most shocking of all, recent brain imaging studies conclusively show that excessive screen exposure can neurologically damage a young person's developing brain in the same way that cocaine addiction can. Kardaras will dive into the sociological, psychological, cultural, and economic factors involved in the global tech epidemic with one major goal: to explore the effect all of our wonderful shiny new technology is having on kids.Glow Kids also includes an opt-out letter and a "quiz" for parents in the back of the book.
Cybersecurity for Beginners by
This book provides an easy insight into the essentials of cybersecurity, even if you have a non-technical background. You may be a business person keen to understand this important subject area or an information security specialist looking to update your knowledge. 'The world has changed more in the past 10 years than in any 10 year period in human history... Technology is no longer a peripheral servant, it shapes our daily lives. Companies that can use technology wisely and well are booming, companies that make bad or no technology choices collapse and disappear. The cloud, smart devices and the ability to connect almost any object to the internet are an essential landscape to use but are also fraught with new risks and dangers of a magnitude never seen before.' ALSO featuring an alphabetical section at the back of the book to help you translate many of the main cybersecurity technical terms into plain, non-technical English. This is the second edition of this book, with updates and additional content.
The Cybersecurity to English Dictionary by
The speed of change in the world of cybersecurity is amazing. If you attend any meeting where cybersecurity is discussed, it can be like listening to a foreign language: blue team, black hat, metamorphic malware, steganography What are these people talking about? This dictionary began life as the reference section at the back of 'Cybersecurity for Beginners' and has now taken on a life of its own, with hundreds of the primary cybersecurity terms defined. This book is designed to be a useful companion for anyone who wants to keep up on cybersecurity terms or confound others with their understanding. Finally, cybersecurity does not need to sound like a different language. A clear and concise dictionary of cybersecurity terminology suitable for both the expert and layman.
Hacking: Computer Hacking, Security Testing,Penetration Testing, and Basic Secur by
Are you interested in learning about how to hack systems? Do you want to learn how to protect yourself from being hacked? Do you wish to learn the art of ethical hacking? Do you want to know the secrets techniques that genius hackers use? Do you want to learn how to protect yourself from some of the most common hacking attacks? Hacking is one of the most misunderstood cyber concepts. The majority of people think of hacking as something evil or illegal, but nothing could be farther from the truth. Indeed, hacking can be a real threat, but if you want to stop someone from hacking you, you must also learn how to hack! In this book, "Hacking: The Ultimate Beginner-to-Expert Guide To Penetration Testing, Hacking, And Security Countermeasures," you will learn: The different types of hackers The different types of attacks The proven steps and techniques that the best hackers usePenetration testing Hacking Wi-Fi Hacking Smartphones Hacking computers The countermeasures you need to protect yourself from hackers The future of hacking And much, much more! This book goes all the way from the basic principles to the intricate techniques and methods that you can use to hack. It is written to suit both beginners, as well as hacking experts. The book uses a language that beginners can understand, without leaving out the complex details that are necessary with hacking. This book is a great place to start learning how to hack and how to protect your devices. If you have been waiting for a book that can break it down for you and then dive into the deep end seamlessly, grab a copy of this book today! Buy your copy today!
Radical Technologies by
A field manual to the technologies that are transforming our lives Everywhere we turn, a startling new device promises to transfigure our lives. But at what cost? In this urgent and revelatory excavation of our Information Age, leading technology thinker Adam Greenfield forces us to reconsider our relationship with the networked objects, services and spaces that define us. It is time to re-evaluate the Silicon Valley consensus determining the future. We already depend on the smartphone to navigate every aspect of our existence. We're told that innovations--from augmented-reality interfaces and virtual assistants to autonomous delivery drones and self-driving cars--will make life easier, more convenient and more productive. 3D printing promises unprecedented control over the form and distribution of matter, while the blockchain stands to revolutionize everything from the recording and exchange of value to the way we organize the mundane realities of the day to day. And, all the while, fiendishly complex algorithms are operating quietly in the background, reshaping the economy, transforming the fundamental terms of our politics and even redefining what it means to be human. Having successfully colonized everyday life, these radical technologies are now conditioning the choices available to us in the years to come. How do they work? What challenges do they present to us, as individuals and societies? Who benefits from their adoption? In answering these questions, Greenfield's timely guide clarifies the scale and nature of the crisis we now confront --and offers ways to reclaim our stake in the future.
UX Strategy by
User experience (UX) strategy requires a careful blend of business strategy and UX design, but until now, there hasn't been an easy-to-apply framework for executing it. This hands-on guide introduces lightweight strategy tools and techniques to help you and your team craft innovative multi-device products that people want to use. Whether you're an entrepreneur, UX/UI designer, product manager, or part of an intrapreneurial team, this book teaches simple-to-advanced strategies that you can use in your work right away. Along with business cases, historical context, and real-world examples throughout, you'll also gain different perspectives on the subject through interviews with top strategists. Define and validate your target users through provisional personas and customer discovery techniques Conduct competitive research and analysis to explore a crowded marketplace or an opportunity to create unique value Focus your team on the primary utility and business model of your product by running structured experiments using prototypes Devise UX funnels that increase customer engagement by mapping desired user actions to meaningful metrics
Mastering Bitcoin by
Join the technological revolution that's taking the financial world by storm. Mastering Bitcoin is your guide through the seemingly complex world of bitcoin, providing the knowledge you need to participate in the internet of money. Whether you're building the next killer app, investing in a startup, or simply curious about the technology, this revised and expanded second edition provides essential detail to get you started. Bitcoin, the first successful decentralized digital currency, is still in its early stages and yet it's already spawned a multi-billion-dollar global economy open to anyone with the knowledge and passion to participate. Mastering Bitcoin provides the knowledge. You simply supply the passion. The second edition includes: A broad introduction of bitcoin and its underlying blockchain--ideal for non-technical users, investors, and business executives An explanation of the technical foundations of bitcoin and cryptographic currencies for developers, engineers, and software and systems architects Details of the bitcoin decentralized network, peer-to-peer architecture, transaction lifecycle, and security principles New developments such as Segregated Witness, Payment Channels, and Lightning Network A deep dive into blockchain applications, including how to combine the building blocks offered by this platform into higher-level applications User stories, analogies, examples, and code snippets illustrating key technical concepts
Critical Perspectives on the Minimum Wage by
Perspectives on minimum wage have changed significantly over the past twenty years, as seen in the increased momentum of movements around the country to increase workers' salaries. Critics of an increased minimum wage argue that it will lead to mass lay-offs and increased unemployment. Proponents argue the opposite, that it will jump start our economy. In this book, economists, the media, the courts, and even ordinary people will weigh in on this contentious issue, allowing students to evaluate the minimum wage from all sides.
Critical Perspectives on Immigrants and Refugees by
As civil conflict and increasingly dire economic situations spread across areas of the globe, refugees have left their homes in countries such as Afghanistan, Syria, and Somalia in search of a better future for themselves and their children. Their often-dangerous plights have received much media attention and have led to increased calls for international humanitarian aid, and, in some cases, for increased border control. In Critical Perspectives on Immigrants and Refugees, students will analyze this important issue and form their own conclusions based on opinions and data from experts, advocacy groups, and the media.
Critical Perspectives on Fossil Fuels vs. Renewable Energy by
Renewable energy is one of the fastest-growing sectors in the global economy as climate scientists and environmentalists give voice to the detrimental effects of fossil fuels. But how far have we gotten in developing efficient and sustainable energy, including solar, wind, and geothermal power, and what are the benefits of these renewable energy sources compared to fossil fuels? This text examines the issue from diverse viewpoints, allowing students to analyze key ideas in energy production through primary source evidence
World War I and the Rise of Global Conflict by
World War I forever changed how nations engage in warfare. Airplanes, tanks, and submarines were used on a larger scale than ever before. This volume examines the root causes of World War I, which escalated from a small political incident into a massive global crisis. It also details the impact of this war in its immediate aftermath and in the decades that followed. Readers will be engaged by the accessible text, which is enhanced with historical photographs, primary sources, and in-depth sidebars.
World War I by
The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand is often cited as the event that triggered World War I, the massive global conflict that ensued shortly after his death. However, the First World War is more accurately described as a culmination of political tension that had been building across various European nations for decades. This comprehensive volume considers the political and diplomatic underpinnings of "the war to end all wars," from its buildup to its conclusion and into the interwar era. The major events of the war and currents of thought that shaped prewar and postwar international relations are examined in depth.
World War II by
Lingering resentments from the First World War, economic unease, and the sweeping racist agenda of Germany's Nazi Party are just some of the many factors that shaped the trajectory of the Second World War. This far-reaching volume examines the major battles, events, and agreements of World War II, the Final Solution, and the legacy of the war from political and diplomatic angles. Readers will learn how European imperialism, American isolationism, the German policy of Anschluss, and much more impacted global approaches to the war and how the boundaries determined by postwar agreements have influenced the geopolitical landscape of today.
The Cold War by
Immediately following World War II, former allies the United States and the Soviet Union began an open yet restricted rivalry that became known as the Cold War and played out around the world until the Soviet Union's collapse in 1991. Many conflicts, such as the Chinese Civil War, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, and the Arab-Israeli wars, acted as proxy wars for the U.S.-Soviet competition. Other major issues explored in this examination of the Cold War include Europe's Iron Curtain, the nuclear arms race, decolonization in Africa, and the spread of communism into Latin America and Southeast Asia.
The Post-Cold War World by
The post-Cold War era began with a decade of conflicts often mediated by the United States as the world's only remaining superpower. The September 11 terrorist attacks, however, marked the dawning of a new era. The United States became preoccupied by the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq, while around the world, new challenges and threats emerged: a more assertive Russia, an increasingly powerful China, dangerous terrorism organizations, and a refugee crisis in the Middle East that spilled into Europe. The story of this fraught era, in which the world was beset by millennial anxiety and destabilized by geopolitical shifts in the balance of power, is told here with great insight and a sure understanding of the complex interplay of action and reaction that characterized the proliferation of conflicts at the turn of the 21st century.
World War II in Europe by
Adolf Hitler, Leader of Nazi Germany, Ordered His Army To Invade Poland On September 1, 1939, Igniting World War Ii In Europe. This Bloody Conflict Ravaged Europe and Millions of People Died. Generals Dwight Eisenhower and George Patton Led the United States Armed Forces Across the Atlantic, Helping the Allies Claim Victory. From the Beaches of Normandy To the Streets of Berlin, Author R. Conrad Stein Examines the Important Battles, the Men and Women Who Fought the War, and How This Conflict Changed the World.
World War II in the Pacific by
When the Japanese Attacked Pearl Harbor On December 7, 1941, the United States Was Thrust Into World War Ii. the War With Japan Would Last Four Grueling Years. Bold Leaders, Such As General Douglas Macarthur and President Franklin Roosevelt, Would Lead the United States To Victory. Author R. Conrad Stein Explores the Historic Carrier-Based Naval Battles, the "island Hopping" Campaigns, the Home Front, and the Beginning of the Atomic Age.
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by
This best-selling guide to decluttering your home from Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes readers step-by-step through her revolutionary KonMari Method for simplifying, organizing, and storing. Despite constant efforts to declutter your home, do papers still accumulate like snowdrifts and clothes pile up like a tangled mess of noodles? Japanese cleaning consultant Marie Kondo takes tidying to a whole new level, promising that if you properly simplify and organize your home once, you'll never have to do it again. Most methods advocate a room-by-room or little-by-little approach, which doom you to pick away at your piles of stuff forever. The KonMari Method, with its revolutionary category-by-category system, leads to lasting results. In fact, none of Kondo's clients have lapsed (and she still has a three-month waiting list). With detailed guidance for determining which items in your house "spark joy" (and which don't), this international bestseller featuring Tokyo's newest lifestyle phenomenon will help you clear your clutter and enjoy the unique magic of a tidy home--and the calm, motivated mindset it can inspire.
Art, Technology, and Language Across the Middle East by
Many Westerners are unaware of the diversity of language and art across the Middle East. Arabic dialects differ based on region and country, and many other Semitic and non-Semitic languages are spoken across the Middle East. Art and technology also develop based on distinct cultural, ethnic, and socioeconomic influences. This book examines art, technology, and language on a per-country basis to show students the richness and diversity of culture across the region.
Economy, Trade, and Resources Across the Middle East by
Economic considerations are often at the forefront of political conflict in the Middle East. This text excavates past and current economic relationships in the Middle East in order to provide a more nuanced view of contemporary politics in the region. Historical context is given on a country-by-country basis, along with current economic issues and profiles of important figures in this domain.
The Economy in Contemporary Africa by
The economy of modern Africa is characterized by explosive growth and even larger potential. The Economy in Contemporary Africa examines the challenges and opportunities that shape economies around the continent today. The book looks at a range of topics, from oil reserves to entrepreneurship, and places them within a local, regional, and global context to provide a comprehensive view of a key player in the world economy.
The Environment in Contemporary Africa by
The Environment in Contemporary Africa explores the diverse landscapes of Africa's fifty-four countries and the environmental issues that threaten them. The book details familiar concerns, like deforestation, pollution, and climate change, as well as issues unique to the continent. The Environment in Contemporary Africa also demonstrates how the legacy of colonialism has contributed to the environmental problems of today and how creative solutions fuel hope for conservation.
Slavery Through the Ages by
Recorded instances of slavery date back to the eighteenth century B.C.E. China and slave practices continue to take place in many countries all over the world. Slavery takes many forms and degrees, often reflecting the values and fissures of the cultures in which it takes place. This necessary volume analyzes the complex history of slavery in accessible chapters supplemented by maps, charts, and timelines to facilitate discussion. Relevant topics provide a broad understanding of issues including: the earliest examples of slavery, Ancient Greece and slavery defined as normal, slavery in the Roman empire, the development of the early modern slave trade, the institution of slavery in the United States, and how slavery persists in the modern world.
The Untold History of the Vikings by
Beginning in 789AD, the Vikings raided monasteries, sacked cities and invaded western Europe. They looted and enslaved their enemies. But that is only part of their story. In long boats they discovered Iceland and America (both by accident) and also sailed up the Seine to Paris (which they sacked). They settled from Newfoundland to Russia, founded Dublin and fought battles as far afield as the Caspian Sea. A thousand years after their demise, traces of the Vikings remain all the way from North America to Istanbul. They traded walruses with Inuits, brought Russian furs to Western Europe and took European slaves to Constantinople. Their graves contain Arab silver, Byzantine silks and Frankish weapons. In this accessible book, the whole narrative of the Viking story is examined from the eighth to the 11th century. Arranged thematically, Vikings - A History of the Norse People, examines the Norsemen from exploration to religion to trade to settlement to weaponry to kingdoms to their demise and legacy. But today questions remain: what prompted the first Viking raids? What stopped their expansion? And how much of the tales of murder, rape and pillage is myth?
The Untold History of the Roman Emperors by
The Caesars were the rulers of the Roman Empire, a Republic so large it encompassed parts of Asia and Northern Africa. From Caligula to Claudius, each emperor wielded immense power - for good or for evil, depending on their temperament - over the Roman army and their citizens. This book highlights the lives of some of the more memorable Caesars of Rome and the true history that exist beneath the legends.
The Untold History of Henry VIII and the Tudors by
Beginning with the victory of Henry Tudor over Richard III at Bosworth Field in 1485, and ending with the death of the childless Elizabeth I in 1603 following a 45-year reign, the Tudor dynasty marks a period in British history where England was transformed from a minor medieval kingdom to a preeminent European power on the verge of empire.
The Untold History of the Kings and Queens of Europe by
To many, Europe has been the pinnacle of world sophistication and culture. Yet beneath the power, the glamor, and the splendor there has also been scandal, mystery and skullduggery. Kings & Queens of Europe: A Dark History peels away the glory and the glitz to take a wry look at what has really gone on in the corridors, bedrooms and dungeons of European power from the fourteenth century up to the present day.
The Untold History of the Kings and Queens of England by
Despite its reputation as the longest established in Europe, the history of the English monarchy is punctuated by scandal, murders, betrayals, plots, and treason. Since William the Conqueror seized the crown in 1066, England has seen three civil wars; six monarchs have been murdered or executed; the throne of England has been usurped four times, and won in battle three times; and personal scandals and royal family quarrels abound.
The World's Weirdest News Stories by 
The World's Most Shocking Secrets and Mysteries by
There is no doubt about it: life is full of mystery. This compelling volume allows readers to peer into the uncovering of state and military secrets such as Watergate, North Korea's purported nuclear bomb testing, and Wikileaks, as well as true crime cases, such as the search for the "Missing Earl." Whether it's Hollywood secrets like Rock Hudson's shocking double life or the excavation of the ancient city of Teotihuacan, students will learn how great mysteries can be hidden, and in turn how they are revealed. Sidebars, a glossary, and books and websites in the further reading section are also included
北歐諸神皆可萌 by
二十一世紀再怎麼貪嗔癡，也沒有北歐諸神來得業障重 且看千年前的北歐，眾神忙著開外掛，否則一秒被打掛的天上人間大亂鬥 關於北歐諸神，那些典籍不明說、學者不點破的種種，都在這一本！ 讓你大呼「原來如此！」的北歐神話新解── ◇性解放和情慾流動，愛情女神費雷雅早就身體力行 ◇培根說：「知識就是力量。」而最求知若渴的，莫過於眾神之父奧丁 ◇媲美《瑯琊榜》的男男CP，主角竟是索爾x洛基？ ◇掌管青春之鑰的北歐西王母，其實是個天然呆美少女！ 當天界的髮夾彎比政令更彎， 諸神的黃昏也只能黯然收場！ 有多荒唐，就有多療癒， 一本87分不能再高的北歐神話！
Othello by
Of his tragedies, William Shakespeare is best known for plays like Romeo and Juliet and Hamlet. Yet literary critics refer to the tragedy Othello as the most "modern" of the Bard's plays. Othello's treatment of race and gender make the play relatable to contemporary audiences. Reading Shakespeare Today: Othello examines the history, plot, and literary devices of the play. The book presents an in-depth look at this major work while also positioning Othello in our digital age.
A Midsummer Night's Dream by
A Midsummer Night's Dream is one of William Shakespeare's funniest comedies. Over the ages, readers and theater-goers have enjoyed this madcap play. Reading Shakespeare Today: A Midsummer Night's Dream places the play in a historical context, provides a look at each scene, covers the major themes of the work, and relays the many ways that Shakespeare is still relevant to our modern lives.
Macbeth by
Explore the characters, themes, motifs, and modern interpretations of Shakespeare's Macbeth all in modern English.
Romeo and Juliet by
Explore the characters, themes, motifs, and modern interpretations of Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet all in modern English.
Strategic Inventions of World War I by
When America entered World War I, it seemed as though the world had turned upside down. Many new technologies were developed on both sides of this conflict, challenging the men and women who fought in it in ways they never could have imagined. Among these developments were the military tank, the tracer bullet, and most deadly of all, poison gas. This book examines the times and events of the war, the key technologies that influenced and affected it, and the lasting impact these had on global society.
Strategic Inventions of World War II by
While America did not get involved in World War II until 1941, it saw plenty of combat and new technologies. One of the largest wars in history, World War II provided an opportunity to develop unique and influential technologies such as the jet engine, the computer, and radar. This book unravels the details of the war, the efforts that went into developing these key technologies, and the legacy that the war and these developments had on societies then as well as today.
Strategic Inventions of the Cold War by
In the years following World War II, a new kind of war gripped the world. This was not a war fought on a battlefield but a war fought in the mind and through willpower and demonstrations of strength. The Cold War, as this conflict became known, lasted from the 1950s to the 1980s. It was a time that saw many new technologies emerge. Among them were ballistic missiles, the M1 Abrams tank, and the television. This book details the events of the Cold War, the need for these technologies, and the impact these advancements had on societies of the past as well as today.
Strategic Inventions of the Spanish Civil War by
From 1936 to 1939, the Spanish Civil War ravished a nation. This was a time filled with both suffering and triumph. During it, many inventions were created, improved, or repurposed. This book describes the history behind the conflict and the key innovations that improved or impacted daily life both on and off the battlefield.
Integrated Robotics by
Many students come to a class on robotics expecting to see R2-D2. This book tells students what a robot is, provides a short history of robotics, and teaches them what the parts of a robot are and how those parts work together. This book also points out pitfalls when building a simple robot and gives examples of how trouble spots were overcome.
Advanced Programming and Design by
As students transition to higher levels of robotics, the problems they are asked to solve become more difficult. This book covers some more advanced tasks such as soldering and welding, and using CAD to design the robot. Also included are examples of how physics can be used to see if elements of the robot are strong enough to perform a task.
Actuators and the Power to Do Tasks by
There are many kinds of motors that are used to put a robot in motion. This book lists the types that are available, what they can do, and how much power they require. Also, it provides examples of ways to determine mathematically if a motor is strong enough to do the task required.
以母之名：她教我用幽默與微笑對抗世界 by
過去，提到南非如果你只知道曼德拉，現在起，請記得崔佛．諾亞（Trevor Noah），一位來自南非最底層，黑白混血的喜劇演員。這本書裡寫的是他「格格不入」的童年過往，也是他征服美國的成功底蘊。 崔佛．諾亞出生在種族隔離制度盛行的南非，當時跨種族通婚被明令禁止。既非全黑，又不全白的身份，讓他在當地倍受歧視。不被認同，也找不到歸屬感，讓混血兒的諾亞覺得自己生下來就像個罪犯。然而，他卻在母親的影響下成為非常受歡迎的喜劇演員。比爾蓋茲說：「諾亞的母親是真正的英雄，她給孩子最好的禮物，就是解放他的思想，讓他學會用自己的角度看世界。」 通過童年一次又一次的經歷，崔佛發現在與他人建立聯繫這件事上，語言比膚色更有力量，他說：「我的膚色不會改變，但我能改變你對我膚色的看法。我也許看起來不像你，但如果我說話像你，我和你就是同一類人。」 悲劇又充滿諷刺的成長童年，和對語言的天份與努力，揉合成崔佛喜劇的基底與元素，在距離南非坐飛機十八小時外的美國，贏得了美國人的喜愛與認同，不分白人還是黑人。 比爾蓋茲說閱讀這本書，讓他質疑自己對世界的想法，再次思考生命的價值。台灣是個移民社會，在這片土地上我們太習慣彼此仇視，也充斥著身份認同的問題。時序來到2017年末，此時此刻，我們推出這本書，希望能對台灣讀者有所啟發，並成為這片土地上的人能夠彼此認同的開端。
改變世界的好設計01 用心點亮世界：影響人類百年文明的視障者 by
一套體現設計思考精神的「發明家人物傳記」 金鼎獎作家張文亮教授，繼《電學之父法拉第》後全新力作， 他們看不見，卻讓全世界都看見！ 8個真實的故事，翻轉你看待世界的方式 如果有一天清早醒來，睜開雙眼卻是一片黑暗，生命進入了永久的停電狀態， 你會有什麼樣的感受？又該如何面對生活呢？ 你曾留意哪些地方有點字符號？小小的六個點代表著什麼意思？ 突破千年來視障者難以閱讀困境的點字發明者、 影響人類百年文明的數學家、創作出不朽巨著《失樂園》的文學家…… 完成這些偉大改變的人都是視障者， 他們雖然看不見，但只要用心傾聽，也能對世界做出偉大貢獻！
跟大師學創造力1：伽利略的大發現 25個酷科學實驗 by
以科學家/藝術家的故事追根溯源，和隨手可作的簡單活動，體驗大師的創作歷程，更能幫助讀者「深度學習」，增加閱讀能力及跨領域整合思考能力，獲得全美科學教師聯盟推薦，更受到國內推廣科普的媒體及老師喜愛。 向天才伽利略學創造力，為天文學與物理學奠定基礎！ 當人類每踏入太空一小步，都應該記得——在伽利略的時代，光是睜開眼睛、瞧瞧望遠鏡裡的事物，都是勇敢的一步！ ★向伽利略學創造力的10個好方法 1.保持好奇心！ 2.獨立檢視問題，不要輕易把別人的話當成解答。 3.「觀察」能發現新問題、保持創造力。 4.學習是自然而然的事。讓家裡充滿崇尚智識的氛圍。 5.不要接受「只要寫在書上的事物，就是事實」這樣的觀念。 6.實驗，是理解所有事物的唯一方法。 7.除了科學，對其他領域（如：文學、藝術）也要保持同樣的興趣。 8.練習為自己辯護。 9.喜歡把觀念應用於可以幫助人類的實務發明。 10.即使是天才，有時候也會犯錯。
跟大師學創造力2：牛頓的物理學探索 21個趣味實驗
牛頓是個性怪異的奇才，在短短的幾年間，他在物理學、天文學和數學領域都有領先時代的新發現，他發明反射式望遠鏡，解釋行星和彗星的運動，發現光具備多重色彩的本質，並開創數學知識的嶄新領域──微積分。 牛頓的三大運動定律影響了物理學的各個領域：研究光的光學；研究熱、能量和氣體的熱力學；還有電力學和磁力學。牛頓以隻手改變科學進展的進程，拉開啟蒙時期的序幕。牛頓不是現代科學家，而是「一腳踩在中世紀、另一腳踏在通往現代科學之路」的先鋒者。 本書以豐富的筆觸，描繪這位精采又複雜的人物，讓我們看到一個英國小村莊的牧羊農之子，如何成為歷史上最有影響力的物理學家。 本書附有21個實驗活動，對照國小及國中自然、理化等基礎課程內容，運用常見的材料，容易操作。包含：製作水車、製作稜鏡、三大運動定律練習、機率計算、水鐘與燭鐘……等。並收錄科學家大事紀年表、重要名詞解釋、著作索引、參考網站等，方便查找。