This page contains information on topic books on Festivals.
Through beautiful illustrations, Celebrating Chinese Festivals presents the most important and celebrated festivals of China, and explains the traditions, the delicious foods, the exciting activities and special customs that go with them. In this book, readers will experience many Chinese festivities together with Little Mei and her family as they celebrate the Mid-autumn Festival. Families get together to make sweet mooncakes. The classic Chinese legends and poems in this colorful book will help children understand Chinese culture, and the recipes for tasty festival treats will delight those who love Chinese food.
Dewey: EN 394.2 TAN (Junior Collection)
In this charming volume, Little Mei asks her grandfather about the Jade Emperor of Heaven who ordered the earth to be destroyed by fire (Lantern Festival).
Dewey: EN 394.2 TAN (Junior Collection)
Long ago, people found a way to light the darkness. They built fires to keep warm and cook their food. They lit torches to drive away danger. To help them see at night, they learned to make candles and lanterns. Light was so important in their lives that they came to use it in worship and in celebrations. From a Brazilian New Year's celebration to the African-American holiday of Kwanzaa, "Celebrations of Light" circles the year and the globe. The text and paintings highlight twelve festivals, showing the diverse ways in which people around the world use light as a major part of their celebrations. In each of these holidays, light plays a significant role, marking and brightening special days.
Dewey: EN 394.2 LUE (Junior collection)
Everyone loves a reason to have a good time, and although cultures around the world have their own unique feasts and festivals, we all share many of the same reasons to celebrate. Now you can learn about the many ways people from around the globe celebrate their special days, and join in the fun!
Celebrate Chinese New Year while making chiao-tzu dumplings, then pop over to Saudi Arabia and taste delicious date-nut cookies called ma amoul while celebrating Eid ul-Fitr. Make an elaborate Venetian mask to wear at a masquerade ball in Venice during carnevale, then pound out a festive rhythm on the Igbo drum you ve made and celebrate the Iriji festival in Nigeria. Eat, drink, and make merry with the many diverse and exciting crafts, recipes, and activities in this book. No matter what language you say it in, celebrations are fun!
Dewey: EN 394.2 JON (Junior Collection)
Enrich your seasonal celebrations with Festivals Together. Here are stories, songs, crafts, activities and recipes from the global village, including Eid, Holi, Easter, Wesak, Advent, Divali and Chinese New Year - and many more! This well loved resource guide draws on the experience of a wide variety of faiths and cultures, including Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim and Sikh.
Dewey: EN 394.2 FIT (Junior Collection)
In these charming volumes, Little Mei asks her grandfather about Qu Yuan, a patriotic poet who loved his kingdom (Dragon Boat Festival).
Dewey: EN 394.2 TAN (Junior Collection)
In this charming volume, Little Mei asks her grandfather about Hou Yi who shot down the suns (Mid-Autumn Festival).
Dewey: EN 394.2 TAN (Junior Collection)