LibGuides: Recommended Reads: British Section Favourite Picture Books

Craig Gamble - Bring Down the Moon

Mr. Gamble

"Such a fab little story about a Mole learning that the moon isn't as near as it looks. The mole is also very cute."

Bring Down the Moon by Jonathan Emmett
ISBN: 9780744589504
Hot-diggerty! Whatever's that?" exclaims Mole as he burrows out of the ground one night and catches sight of the moon. He thinks it's the most beautiful thing he's ever seen and he wants it, so he sets about trying to pull it down - to no avail. When all his efforts prove to be in vain, he suddenly notices the moon's in a puddle at his feet and reaches to pick it up and breaks it. Poor Mole is inconsolable, until he is shown that the moon is not broken at all, but just as beautiful as ever, hanging in the sky like a bright silver coin. And it's not as near as it looks!

Jessica Gosling - The Gruffalo

Mrs. Gosling

"I love this books as it proves how being smart wins over size and 'power'! So stay in school! Also I love how the gruffulo looks, especially the nobbly knees!"

John Preston - I broke my trunk!

"I broke my trunk is my favorite book because it has a funny story and I like to read it aloud with crazy voices."

I Broke My Trunk! (an Elephant and Piggie Book) by Mo Willems (Illustrator)
Call Number: Mo Willems collection
ISBN: 9781423133094
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to. Gerald and Piggie are best friends. In I Broke My Trunk! Gerald tells Piggie the long, crazy story about breaking his trunk. Will Piggie end up with a long, crazy story of her own? Once again, Mo Willems creates another hilarious escapade starring the Geisel Award-winning duo. Vetted by an early-learning specialist, I Broke My Trunk! will have readers breaking into laughter left and right!

Jennie Bonnalie - The Bramlby Hedge collection

"The Brambly Hedge collection of stories are a favourite of mine. The illustrations are so intricate and beautiful, and everytime I read it there is something new to find."

David Treston

"Here is the picture of me with my favourite book. Of course it is a Puffin book, seeing I am the teacher of the Puffin Class. The book is called Puffin Peter. It is a fun book about Peter getting lost at sea and a whale trying to help him find his friend Paul."

Shruti Mondal

Handa's Surprise by Eileen Browne
Call Number: PB B
ISBN: 0744536340
Handa puts seven delicious fruits in a basket for her friend, Akeyo. Which fruit will Akeyo like best, she wonders. The answer turns out to be a big surprise!

Jeni Wong

Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle (Illustrator)
Call Number: Eric Carle collection
ISBN: 0887081770
Publication Date: 1991-08-20
Monica wants the moon to play with, so her Papa sets out to get it for her. It isn't easy to climb all the way up to the moon, but he finally succeeds -- only to find that the moon is too big to carry home! The way in which this problem is solved is a joyful surprise.
The Mountain that Loved a Bird by Alice McLerran
Call Number: Not currently in the collection
ISBN: 9780590468480
The bird named Joy promised to come back every year. This brought happiness to the barren, lonely mountain, and over time, many wonderful changes took place.
The Lorax by Dr. Seuss (Illustrator)
Call Number: EN PB S
ISBN: 9780394823379
Publication Date: 1971-08-12
Long before "going green" was mainstream, Dr. Seuss's Lorax spoke for the trees and warned of the dangers of disrespecting the environment. In this cautionary rhyming tale (printed on recycled paper) we learn of the Once-ler, who came across a valley of Truffula Trees and Brown Bar-ba-loots, and how his harvesting of the tufted trees changed the landscape forever. With the release of the blockbuster film version, the Lorax and his classic tale have educated a new generation of young readers not only about the importance of seeing the beauty in the world around us, but also about our responsibility to protect it.

Julia Chow

The Highway Rat by Julia Donaldson; Axel Scheffler (Illustrator)
Call Number: Julia Donaldson collection
ISBN: 9780545477581
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Quick! Hide all your goodies! The Highway Rat's coming, and he's going to steal your snacks...

He takes clover from a rabbit, nuts from a squirrel -- he even steals his own horse's hay! Can no one stop him?

The creators of Stick Man and A Gold Star for Zog stand and deliver this fabulous new story of a wickedly loveable villain who gets his just deserts.

Rebecca Preston - Grandfather's Journey

"I love this book because of it's beautiful illustrations, and the main character's love for two countries. I can relate to him, because I fall in love with each country I live in, and it can be hard to want to live in so many places at the same time!"

Grandfather's Journey by Allen Say
Call Number: Award Books
ISBN: 9780544050501
Publication Date: 2013-11-05
When he was a young man, Allen Say's grandfather left his home in Japan to explore the world. He began his journey by crossing the Pacific Ocean on a steamship, then wandered the deserts, farmlands, and cities of North America.

Peter Beairsto - Horton Hatches the Egg

Mr. Beairsto

Here is the picture of me reading Horton Hatches the Egg by Dr. Seuss. It is one of my favourite children's books for two reasons: It is a tale of persistence being rewarded and it has the famous phrase " I meant what I said and I said what I meant... an elephant's faithful one hundred per cent!"

Horton Hatches the Egg by Dr. Seuss
Call Number: Dr Seuss Collection
ISBN: 9780008272036
Generations of children have fallen in love with Horton the elephant! This book is perfect for your child's Easter basket!

I meant what I said
And I said what I meant. . . .
An elephant’s faithful
One hundred per cent!

Horton is kind and trustworthy, but unfortunately, the lazy bird Mayzie takes advantage of his good nature when she leaves Horton to watch her unhatched egg. Told with Dr. Seuss’s signature rhymes and trademark illustrations, this is a tale that will be enjoyed over and over, by reader and listener alike. And don’t miss another delightful tale about this beloved pachyderm: Horton Hears a Who!

Keith Gosling - The Gruffalo

Mr. Gosling

"I love all of Julia Donaldsons book so it was a tough choice, with a squash amd a squeeze in close second place. I like the way the mouse outsmarts all of the other animals and ends up enjoying his nut in the woods!"

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson; Axel Scheffler (Illustrator)
Call Number: Julia Donaldson collection
ISBN: 9780803730472
Publication Date: 2005-01-27
When Mouse takes a stroll through the woods, he meets a fox, an owl, and a snake who all want to eat him! So Mouse invents a gruffalo, a monster with "terrible tusks and terrible claws, terrible teeth, and terrible jaws." But will Mouse's frightful description be enough to scare off his foes? After all, there's no such thing as a gruffalo . . . is there?

Joyce Duxfield

"My favourite book is called 'Be brave, little penguin'.

I like this book because it teaches me that it is alright to have certain fears in life, what we can do it to be brave and face our fears."

Nicky Robinson

Where is the Green Sheep?

"I like this book for the fun repetition and the delight of finding the green sheep fast asleep under the tree; totally oblivious to the world around!"

David Gatley

Jane and the Dragon by Martin Baynton (Illustrator)
Call Number: Not currently in the collection
ISBN: 0763635707
Publication Date: 2007-02-13
A feisty heroine who'd rather joust than sew seeks out her own adventures in these magical fairy tales for today's young readers. Jane longs to be a knight, but everyone laughs at her. Everyone, that is, except the court jester, who lends her a small suit of armor to help make her dream come true. And when an enormous dragon swoops in and steals the prince, Jane quickly gets the chance to prove herself!

Cristie Woodall

The Giving Tree by Shell Silverstein
Call Number: EN PB S
ISBN: 9781846143830
Once there was a little tree and she loved a little boy. So begins a story of unforgettable perception, written and illustrated by Shel Silverstein. This is a tender story, touched with sadness, aglow with consolation.

Shannie Wang

The Tiger who came to Tea by Judith Kerr
Call Number: PB K
ISBN: 9780007215997
The doorbell rings just as Sophie and her mummy are sitting down to tea. Who could it possibly be? What they certainly don't expect to see at the door is a big furry, stripy tiger!

Erin McAdams

The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn; Ruth E. Harper (Illustrator); Nancy M. Leak (Illustrator)
Call Number: PB P
ISBN: 9781933718002
Publication Date: 1993-10-15
School is starting in the forest, but Chester Raccoon does not want to go. To help ease Chester's fears, Mrs. Raccoon shares a family secret called the Kissing Hand to give him the reassurance of her love any time his world feels a little scary.

Suzanne Lovrincevic

Koala Lou by Mem Fox; Pamela Lofts (Illustrator)
Call Number: PB F
ISBN: 9780152000769
Publication Date: 1994-02-28
When Koala Lou’s mother becomes so busy that she forgets to tell her firstborn how much she loves her, Koala Lou enters the Bush Olympics, intending to win an event and her mother’s love all at one time.

Colette Armstrong

Owl Babies by Martin Waddell
Call Number: PB W
ISBN: 0744531675
"I want my mommy!" Three baby owls awake one night to find their mother gone, and they can’t help but wonder where she is. What is she doing? When will she be back? What scary things move all around them?
We're Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen; Helen Oxenbury (Illustrator)
Call Number: PB R
ISBN: 9780689815812
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
Now the very youngest readers can join in the fun with this Classic Board Book(tm) edition of We're Going on a Bear Hunt. Full of delightful comedy and high drama, this tale of a brave family's joyous romp through sweeping landscapes is sure to win new fans.

Aidan Stallward - Flotsam

Mr. Stallwood

"It is a great journey story which links with a wide range of people."

Flotsam by David Wiesner
Call Number: EN PB W
ISBN: 9780618194575
Publication Date: 2006-09-04
A bright, science-minded boy goes to the beach equipped to collect and examine flotsam-anything floating that has been washed ashore. Bottles, lost toys, small objects of every description are among his usual finds. But there's no way he could have prepared for one particular discovery: a barnacle-encrusted underwater camera, with its own secrets to share . . . and to keep.

Ann Liufalani - The Featherless Chicken

"I just love this book as it tells us to be kind to one another not matter what we look!"

The Featherless Chicken by Chih-Yuan Chen (Illustrator)
Call Number: EN PB C
ISBN: 0976205696
Publication Date: 2006-10-28
Filled with bold illustrations and wry humor, this twist on the ugly duckling tale places a chicken in the lead role. The chicken has no feathers and he longs to play with the other beautiful chickens in the yard, but they turn him down, ridiculing him for his bare skin. When he discovers a creative camouflage for his paltry plumage, however, the other chickens allow him to join them on a boat ride, never expecting that a surprising accident will change the way they see themselves and the (formerly) featherless chicken.

Tina Chang - Not a Box

Not a Box Board Book by Antoinette Portis (Illustrator)
Call Number: PB B
ISBN: 9780061994425
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
A box is just a box...unless it's not a box. From mountain to rocket ship, a small rabbit shows that a box will go as far as the imagination allows. Inspired by a memory of sitting in a box on her driveway with her sister, Antoinette Portis captures the thrill when pretend feels so real that it actually becomes real--when the imagination takes over inside a cardboard box, and through play, a child is transported to a world where anything is possible.

Michael Norris

Best Lowly Worm Book Ever! by Richard Scarry
Call Number: Not currently in the collection
ISBN: 9780385387828
Publication Date: 2014-08-26
Join Richard Scarry’s most beloved character, Lowly Worm, in this fun, engaging picture book. It’s quite the busy day for Lowly Worm. Whether he is at school, on the farm, helping his friends, or zooming about in his apple car, Lowly always gives young readers plenty to see and discover. Learning new words, counting along, and finding their favorite characters in the illustrations, children will repeatedly pore over this newly discovered Richard Scarry gem, lovingly completed by his son, Huck Scarry.

Iuliia Maksymova

Shark in the Park by Nick Sharratt
Call Number: Not currently in the collection
ISBN: 9780857534781
Timothy Pope, Timothy Pope, what can you see through your telescope? Join a little boy on a trip through the park. Is that really a shark he can see? Look through the die-cut hole and then turn the page and find out...A hilarious peep-through board book from the bestselling Nick Sharratt.

David O'Connor - The Snail and the Whale

The Snail and the Whale by Julia Donaldson; Axel Scheffler (Illustrator)
Call Number: Julia Donaldson Collection
ISBN: 9780142405802
Publication Date: 2006-04-06
When a tiny snail meets a humpback whale, the two travel together to far-off lands. It's a dream come true for the snail, who has never left home before. But when the whale swims too close to shore, will the snail be able to save her new friend?

Peter Groom

Gorilla by Anthony Browne
Call Number: PB B
ISBN: 0744599970
Hannah spends all of her time reading gorilla books, watching gorilla TV shows, and drawing gorilla pictures. She has gorillas on her bedside lamp and even on her box of cereal. Hannah loves gorillas and longs to see a real one, but her father is always too busy - or too tired - to take her to the zoo. Then, on the night before her birthday, something extraordinary happens - and Hannah’s wish comes gloriously true.

Tom Newman

In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak (Illustrator)
Call Number: Not currently in the collection
ISBN: 9780064434362
Publication Date: 1996-01-18
In the Night Kitchen is the classic story of Mickey's adventures in the bakers' kitchen as they prepare our morning cake. "Milk in the batter! Milk in the batter! We bake cake and nothing's the matter!" the bakers sing. The bakers in the night kitchen need more milk for their batter, but then Mickey falls into the cake! They decide to put him in the oven anyway, but Mickey has different plans. He escapes in a plane made of bread dough and helps the bakers find the milk at last.

Karina Tung

Monkey Puzzle by Julia Donaldson
Call Number: Julia Donaldson collection
ISBN: 9781509812493
I've lost my mum! It's not too much fun being lost in the jungle, and little monkey wants his mummy. Kindly butterfly is keen to help, but they don't seem to be having much luck as the well-meaning butterfly misunderstands monkey's descriptions and leads him to all sorts of unsuitable animals!

Jenny Chien

Giraffes Can't Dance by Giles Andreae
Call Number: PB A
ISBN: 9781841215655
Gerald the giraffe longs to dance, but his legs are too skinny and his neck is too long. His knees buckle whenever he tries to twirl. At the Jungle Dance, the warthogs waltz, the chimps cha-cha, and the lions tango. "Giraffes can't dance," they all jeer when it's Gerald's turn to prance. But there is one little creature who believes in Gerald. "Everything makes music," the cricket explains, "if you really want it to." So Gerald starts swaying to his own sweet tune.

Hilary Trehern

I Broke My Trunk! by Mo Willems (Illustrator)
Call Number: Mo Willems collection
ISBN: 9781423133094
Publication Date: 2011-02-08
Gerald is careful. Piggie is not. Piggie cannot help smiling. Gerald can. Gerald worries so that Piggie does not have to. Gerald and Piggie are best friends. In I Broke My Trunk! Gerald tells Piggie the long, crazy story about breaking his trunk. Will Piggie end up with a long, crazy story of her own? Once again, Mo Willems creates another hilarious escapade starring the Geisel Award-winning duo. Vetted by an early-learning specialist, I Broke My Trunk! will have readers breaking into laughter left and right!