Indian Children's Favourite Stories
by B.Ranjan Somaiah (Author), Rosemarie Somaiah
Retold here are the wonderful tales of how the Lord Krishna escapes the evil Kamsa's repeated attempts to kill him, how the handsome Prince Rama returns to his father's kingdom to reclaim his throne, and how the elephant keeper's daughter, Rani humbles an unwise and unjust king by emptying all of his storehouses of rice. Included at the back is a glossary of Indian names and terms. Its contents are: "The Birth of Krishna", "No Ordinary Lad", "Tenali Raman the Prankster", "Journey to Heaven", "The Story of Rama", "Sukhu and Dukhu", "The Foolish Man", "One Grain of Rice", and, a glossary of Names and Terms.
Classification: Non-Fiction - EN 398.2 SOM (Junior Collection)
by Sandra Moore
The Peace Tree from Hiroshima. This true children's story is told by a little bonsai tree that lived with the same family in the Japanese city of Hiroshima for more than 300 years before being donated to the National Arboretum in Washington DC in 1976 as a gesture of friendship between America and Japan to celebrate the American Bicentennial. The tree is called Miyajima after the island on which it first grew, before being gently uprooted and brought to the home of the Yamaki family, where it was lovingly pruned and trimmed by generations of fathers and sons. At the end of the Second World War, an atomic bomb destroys Hiroshima. Many people die, but the Yamaki family and Miyajima survive. One day, a truck comes to take Miyajima away. The little tree is on its way to the National Arboretum in Washington as a gift of friendship from Japan to America. Miyajima is very proud, but also sad to leave the Yamaki family. At the end of the book, Masaru, the elderly grandfather of the family, and his ten-year-old grandson Akira, make a surprise visit to Washington to visit their much missed and beloved family member.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB M (Junior Collection)
Sadako by Eleanor Coerr and Ed Young
Adapted from the original book, Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes by Eleanor Coerr
One morning in August 1954, Sadako Sasaki looked up at the blue sky over Hiroshima and saw not a cloud in the sky...
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB C (Junior Collection)
Korean Children's Favorite Stories by Kim So-Un
This book is a beautifully illustrated, captivating collection of Korean folk tales which are still being told, just as they have been for generations. Some are peculiar to Korea, while others echo those told in other countries. Written with wit and pathos, they unveil the inevitable foibles of people everywhere and expose the human-like qualities of animals and the animal-like qualities of humans.
Classification: Non-Fiction - EN 398.2 KIM
Suho's White Horse: A Mongolian Legend
by Suekichi Akaba (Illustrator), Peter Howlett (Translator)
Filipino Children's Favorite Stories by Liana Elena Fomulo
A precious collection of adored Filipino myths to delight and entrance your child - An illustrated hardback with wonderful watercolor illustrations from award-winning artist Joanne De Leon - Includes the fantastical tales 'The Prince's Bride', 'The Magic Lake', 'The Deer and the Snail', and many others - some published for the very first time.
Classification: Non-Fiction - EN 398.2 ROM
Although there are many collections of Chinese folktales, few if any focus specifically on the tales of Taiwan, which have evolved in a tradition separate and distinct from that of mainland China. This wonderful sampling of more than 20 Taiwanese tales will appeal to all ages, illuminating Taiwanese culture and demonstrating Taiwanese values and ethics. In addition, readers will find a brief history of the island, discussion questions, and activity ideas to extend learning and enjoyment, as well as simple Taiwanese recipes, color photos, and traditional drawings. Stories can be read aloud to younger students, while older children will enjoy reading and performing them on their own. This delightful introduction to Taiwanese traditions is a superb educational tool, and a great addition to the storytelling shelf.
Classification: Non-fiction - EN 398.2 DAV (Junior Collection)
Gecko's Complaint
by
The endless flashing of fireflies disturbs a well-fed gecko's sleep. Gecko complains to the lion Raden, who is the king of the jungle, sending him on a tour of his domain. But each new animal's complaint leads Raden to yet another irritable animal, and it is only when he speaks to the Rain that Raden finally finds an answer for himself and all his subjects. Gecko's Complaint is a sparkling retelling of a classic Balinese folktale.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB B (Junior Collection)
Ganesha's Sweet Tooth
by Sanjay Patel & Emily Hayes
Ganesha is just like any other kid, except that he has the head of an elephant and rides around on a magical mouse. And he loves sweets, especially the traditional dessert laddoo. But when Ganesha insists on biting into a super jumbo jawbreaker laddoo, his tusk breaks off! Ganesha is terribly upset, but with the help of the wise poet Vyasa, and his friend Mr. Mouse, he learns that what seems broken can actually be quite useful after all.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB P (Junior Collection)
retold by Sanjay Patel
"The Ramayana" is the story of Rama, the blue prince, who is an avatar of the god Vishnu, sent to earth to battle a terrible demon, Ravana. At the begininning of the story, Rama's stepmother deceives his father into banishing Rama and his wife Sita from the kingdom for fourteen years. While in the forest, Ravana takes advantage of their vulnerability and kidnaps Sita and imprisons her in his palace on Sri Lanka. Rama goes on a quest to rescure her with the help of an army of monkeys and bears - including Hanuman, the monkey king. A great battle ensues, which, after great losses on both sides, Rama wins in a duel by firing a shot from an enchanted bow. He then returns to his kingdom with Sita and reigns over an era of peace and prosperity.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB P (Junior Collection)
by Ken Mochizuki
This beautifully illustrated book tells the story of Chiune Sugihara, the "Japanese Schindler", who, with his family's encouragement, saved the lives of thousands of Polish Jews in World War II.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB M (Junior Collection)
Mr. Mole and the Most Powerful Being in the World
retold by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
Mr Mole says that only the most powerful being in the world is good enough to marry his daughter. Where will he find this being? The answer is closer to home than he thinks.
Classification: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Library)
Tiger and Mrs. Mousedeer
retold by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
Tiger’s cave is taken over by Mrs Mousedeer while he is away on holiday. But surely such a small animal will be no match for the mighty Tiger when he returns to claim back his home?
As part of the Ten Tales from Different Cultures series, this lively Malaysian folktale is retold by expert storytellers Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters.
Classification: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Collection)
by Theresa Heine & Judith Gueyfier
A heartwarming story of two resourceful sisters who bring the safety of solar-powered light to their family. ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE: Global issue of solar power replacing unsafe, unhealthy fossil fuel power at core of story EDUCATION MARKET: Includes information on Nepali culture, map of Nepal and instructions for making a solar-powered pizza oven NEPALI CULTURE: Provides authentic introduction to Nepali village culture FEMINISM: Two sisters cooperate as young entrepreneurs to help their sick baby brother.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB H (Junior Collection)
Nasrudin and the Coat
retold by Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters
Nasrudin is known around the world as the wise fool and this story tells you all about him.
As part of the Ten Tales from Different Cultures series, this traditional Turkish trickster tale is retold by expert storytellers Andrew Fusek Peters and Polly Peters.
Classifcation: Picture Book - PB P (Infant Collection)
Folktales from Taiwan: An English Reader
by Jessie Huang
These vivid taiwanese folktales, some passed down from the author's grandmother, bring alive the mythology of a place and a people. For native speakers a journey through this book offers a deeper sense of what it means to be Taiwanese. For ESL students these stories will charm with their familiar message in well crafted English. You won't be bored. At the same time you will find that with lively stories as your text, learning is more fun and remembering is easier.
Classification: EN 398.2 HUA (Junior Collection)
Kenting - Children's Paradise
Classification: Picture Book EN PB (Junior Collection)