South and North, East and West
edited by Michael Rosen
A collection of twenty-five children's stories from around the world, published in aid of Oxfam. The best stories know no boundaries and the 25 tales in this anthology are designed to appeal to children the world over. Published to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the international aid agency Oxfam, the stories have been collected either in their country of origin by Oxfam field workers or from London school children by the book's editor Michael Rosen. There are animal stories from Botswana and Indonesia, ghost stories from Jamaica and Vietnam, family stories from India and southern Africa, a tale of a golden-haired Princess from Nepal, a creation myth from Brazil and many more. Each story has its own distinctive flavour. Michael Rosen is the author of "We're Going on a Bear Hunt" (winner of the 1989 Smarties Book Prize), "Little Rabbit Foo Foo", "The Horribles", "Till Owlyglass" (shortlisted for the 1989 Emil/Kurt Maschler Award), "Clever Cakes" and "Scrapbooks". The illustrators for the book include Helen Oxenbury, Nicola Bayley, Michael Foreman, John Burningham and Cathie Felstead.
Classification: EN 398.2 SOU (Junior Collection)
This DVD is a combined effort with American Storyteller, Mike Lockett, and Taiwan's Caves Educational Training Company. Dr. Lockett is called "Yeh Yeh Mike" (Grandpa Mike) in Taiwan. The stories were crafted by Grandpa Mike and told in English in order to help teach beginning English to Taiwanese students. The stories are excellent to use in homes and classrooms with young children ages 3 - 8. "WINNER Storytelling DVD of the Year from Creative Child Magazine" Album comes in high quality pasteboard case (of recycled material.)
Classification: DVD - EN DVD LOC (Infant Collection)
Lazy Jack and other stories
retold by Miles Kelly
A collection of 5 minute stories from around the world including - Ireland, England, India, Turkey, Asia.
Classification - Picture Book - EN PB A (Junior Collection)
In this collection of stories from around the world, each tale is newly retold. There are funny stories and clever stories, sad stories and strange stories, each one reflecting the country from which it comes. The book begins with Anansi the spider, tricking his friends and winning, as usual; and ends with a woodcutter being lured away and lost forever in a jungle. In between there are stories about princesses, cats, frogs; about heroes, kings, and thieves. Robin Hood and Ned Kelly have their adventures, and there is a Cinderella story from North America. Michael Harrison and Christopher Stuart-Clark have edited and written many best-selling books. The illustrations are by various artists, and have been commissioned specially for this book.
Classification: EN 398.2 HAR (Junior Collection)
Listen to the Storyteller: A Trio of Musical Tales from around the World
Celebrate the storytellers who tell the tales-- whether in words, pictures, music, or all three
A willful boy and a dancing witch go to clamorous lengths to win a magic fiddle.... A maiden imprisoned by her cold-hearted brother is rescued by the power of love.... A quest for knowledge leads three boys on an unforgettable journey....
Inspired by Afro-Caribbean, Celtic, and Native American lore, this engaging trio of original stories comes to vivid life in stunning, collage-like illustrations.
Classification - Picture Book - PB B (Infant Collection)
The Barefoot Book of Earth Tales
by Dawn Casey & Anne Wilson
This attractive book marries ancient wisdom with modern environmentalism, collecting seven tales from around the world and telling us how to take care of the earth. A Nigerian folk tale about people who ate the sky teaches us not to consume more than we need. A native American story of a lonely girl's prized possession suggests we may have to make sacrifices for the general good. A Welsh fable about an elderly couple, their slop bucket and the fairies in their garden encourages us not to dump rubbish. The stories are interspersed with environmentally friendly crafts and activities, such as how to make a corn dolly. The book's greatest charm is in the bright, decorative illustrations that borrow from primitive art, and in the flashes of imagination in the stories: that bats and stick insects, for instance, came about because envious and dissatisfied mice and insects chose to resemble birds and twigs.
Classification: Picture Book - EN PB C (Junior Collection)